Today I’m talking about a topic that, as women, we think about or talk about EVERY SINGLE DAY. The subject: HOW WE LOOK! And here’s where it starts, from the moment we’re born people comment on our ‘beauty:’

“Oh…she’s so cute. Look at those “chubby cheeks and hair!”

Then as we grow into toddlers and young kids and more comments:

She’s a little chunky, she didn’t lose that “baby fat” yet?

Her hair is so nappy, whatcha gonna do with that?

And then we go through the awkward puberty stage and it’s full-blown war!

You ain’t gonna never get a man looking like that!

Put a bra on!

You’re flat-chested!

Wear a dress so you can look like a lady!

Don’t wear that dress you look like you know what!

We are told over and over and over again HOW WE LOOK and it’s based on everyone else’s opinion. It is no wonder women today are TIRED, CONFUSED, FRUSTRATED and SICK of folk telling us WHAT BEAUTY IS!!

A recent PEOPLE Magazine named BEYONCE the MOST BEAUTIFUL WOMAN IN THE WORLD! My goodness, how do you get to be labeled the MOST BEAUTIFUL WOMAN IN WORLD?? What pressure! Is it her eyes, her lips, her curves, her singing ability—what makes BEYONCE the most beautiful woman in the world? Here’s what she said in the article when asked HOW DOES IT FEEL BEING NAMED WORLD’S MOST BEAUTIFUL WOMAN?

She answered, “It’s overwhelming! But it is such an honor. I feel more beautiful than I’ve ever felt, because I’ve given birth. I have never felt so connected and never felt like I had such a purpose on this earth.” She feels beautiful because of giving birth and having purpose (not because of her hair length, eye color or body shape)

So what makes you feel beautiful? Are you comfortable in your own skin? For me, IT TOOK A LONG, LONG time to deal with this beauty issue. So many women—grapple and wrestle with this thing called beauty every, single day. And for many of us, if we’re honest, we’re losing the battle. Many women don’t like what they see in the mirror. Many women don’t like the texture of their hair, or the size of their butts, or their skin color.

You know, one of the biggest influences on beauty images comes from the toy and movie industries. I can remember one Christmas, I wanted a Black baby doll that I saw in a store. My Mother had to search high and low to find that ONE Black baby doll for me. When I opened her that Christmas morning, I was in heaven! Seeing my color on a baby dolls’ skin was HUGE…and she took center stage for a long time in my doll collection laying on top of all the other dolls. When Mattel finally got it and started making BLACK Barbie Dolls that weren’t just white dolls spray painted Black but Disney did take their sweet time before FINALLY giving us a BLACK PRINCESS!

Anika Noni Rose is the wonderful actress who played Tiana, Disney’s first Black Princess, and she told me that she’s thrilled that she got the chance to help shape young girl’s beauty and esteem!

LISTEN TO THE PODCAST OF THE ENTIRE SHOW HERE

Mirror, Mirror on the wall are we really the most beautiful of them all? Tell me what you think!  I’ve been questioning and polling on FACEBOOK and I want to hear from you. How do you define beauty?

THE JENNIFER KEITT SHOW FACEBOOK PAGE

What truly makes a woman beautiful? Long hair, short hair, skin color and GENTLEMAN I especially want to hear your take on this! Tell me about the first time you came face-to-face with your looks when did beauty become real for you? My show HOTLINE number is always open, 404-906-7720. I am your CHIEF EMPOWERMENT OFFICER, Jennifer Keitt and you can listen to THE JENNIFER KEITT SHOW on KISS 104, Atlanta’s R&B every Sunday, 7 -8 pm ET or you can hear my Today’s Black Woman Radio Show Vignettes daily nationwide.

VISIT MY WEBSITE FOR MORE INFORMATION AND TO HEAR THE RADIO SHOWS.

